69: Is it that obvious?

I’ve always considered myself pretty good at keeping my personal life personal and keeping my work life professional. (With customers, that is, I’m a little more open with my coworkers). When I’m processing transactions, there’s usually some idle chit chat, but I never get too in depth into my personal life. That’s why I was very surprised when 4 of my customers commented on my love life.

The first was a regular who has been known to make inappropriate comments in the past. I haven’t been feeling well the past couple of days and many people have commented on how tired I look. This customer, however, asked me, “You look tired, your boyfriend been keeping you up at night, if you know what I mean?” I rolled my eyes, and just responded with “What boyfriend?” He looks back at me and says, “Oh, I see, you’re all pent up ‘cuz you ain’t getting any. You should do something about that.” Thanks, Joe.

Then I had another regular comment on how “lonely” I always looked, and told me I needed to find myself a man to make me happy. They went on to wish me luck saying “All the good one’s are either married or gay. You’re cute, though, you might be able to find someone.” That was helpful. The third one told me she was psychic and could tell that a good man was coming into my life. Well, that sounds promising.

Is it that obvious that I am single and have been for a while? Or at least obvious enough for three people to comment on my love life like that? I mean sure, I can be flirtatious, but it’s not like I’m desperately throwing myself at people! To be fair, the first guy did think I had a boyfriend… But also told me I needed to get laid. Win or fail?  In any case, I had no idea I was giving off such desperate and lonely vibes – (and how do I make them stop?). I wonder how credible that psychic is…

And yes, I can count, I know I said four! The final comment was the most interesting, and so out of left field! The customer and I were talking about plans we had for the weekend, and he mentioned he had plans with his wife, and then asked me if I had any plans with mine. I responded, “With my wife?” and laughed politely. And he responded very seriously, “Yeah, you’re married to a woman, ain’t ya?” I just laughed it off and said, “No, I’m actually single and… um, straight.”

Also, for those of you that don’t read RTBD, I’ve decided to pull a Charlie McDonnell and accept dares from readers. That’s right, we’re going to play “Dare Danni“. I’ve created a page where you can submit a dare, and even include a reason why I should choose your dare. Every so often, I will choose my favorite 5 dares and create a poll so people can vote on their favorites. Whichever gets the most votes, I will complete. Make sense? I’m not setting a limit to the number of dares, this will just be an on-going thing… or until people get sick of it. So start submitting your dares NOW! (Yes, I did copy and past this from RTBD…)

