65: The Impossible Coworker

One of the factors of making a job bearable is the people you work with, and if you read RTBD you know my customers are dreadful, so coworkers are a big deal. And I’ll admit, I genuinely get along with all of my coworkers – except for one. There is always that one coworker that is so difficult and impossible to get along with. Here’s the problem: She is one of those needy coworkers, who can’t figure out how to do things on her own.  We all have our own vault where we keep our coins and she can never figure out how to open hers. This means she has all her coins locked up all day and that she is using everybody else’s which makes us run low. She gives almost every customer all hundreds, and then runs out and comes to us to buy her own. We’ve told her many times to manage her drawer better and she says, “I manage it just fine, I don’t know what the problem is.” She always asks us to finish tasks that were assigned to her, or waits for us to do it so that she doesn’t have to. Like she was asked to look up a procedure online since she had not properly followed it earlier in the day and out of curiosity and for my own benefit I looked it up too to make sure I was doing it right as well. I looked over at her screen and she was shopping, and then when I found the procedure in question she comes up behind me and asks to look on with me because she can’t find it. It took everything for me to not say, “It’s hard to find something when you’re not looking.”

I guess it wouldn’t bother me as much if she helped out around the office a bit more. Like at the end of the day when we’re all trying to get out of there, we need to work together to get out on time. She only takes care of her area and then leaves. Doesn’t ask the rest of us if we need help with anything, doesn’t ask if there’s anything she can do to help us get out early, just leaves. Once I asked her for help to just put something away for me because I had a lot of other stuff to get done before I went home. She said “Yeah, sure! No problem!” I come in to work the next day to find I have been written up because it had been left out. I confronted her saying, “You said you would put that away for me last night, and now I got written up for it…” She cut me off saying, “I never said I would do that. If I said I would do it then I would have done it. You never asked me to do it.” And that was that. If I pushed it more I would have gotten heated and it would have ended very badly. And this has happened on more than one occasion! She says she’ll do or has done something and it’s not done and she denies it ever saying it! How can you argue with that? I’ve proven her wrong before, but she just makes excuse after excuse. “I didn’t know that is what I was signing for,” “I thought I did it correctly,” “You should have told me how to do it properly” – anything so she is not to blame!

I really don’t know what to do. I’m not a tattle tale, but she has thrown me under the bus a couple of times too. I want to say something, but I don’t want her to make things more difficult for me if I do. What would you do?

P.S. Sorry about the lack of posts, it seems we’ve been having an off week this week. Hopefully we’ll get this figured out soon!

