63: On a scale from 1-10… who fucking cares?

As you may know from reading “Random Thoughts by Danni” I am not a fan of rating systems. I just don’t like them. However, I have a group of guy friends who are obsessed with ratings and rankings about themselves and others. As the token “gal pal” among a group of guys, I was usually the one they turned to when they wanted a “female opinion”. It was even better when they would get into an argument in front of me and would say, “Ugh, we need a girl’s opinion on this… Hey Danni, you’re a girl!” as if they were just discovering this fact for the first time. And yes, this happened more than once, but I digress.

There’s the obvious 1 to 10 scale… Like, “yeah, she’s totally a 10” or “she’s a 3 but I banged her anyway”. (Yes, crude, but these are just the things I heard…) I would constantly be asked, “Where do I rank on the scale?… Remember my friend Sully from the party on Friday? What would you give him?” Then there was the argument about how the four guys who shared an apartment ranked according to physical appearance, which of course fell on my shoulders.

The one that pissed me off the most would have to be the top kisser ranking. You see, one of these guys and I had a fling, it never went very far, but we’d made out a few times. After things ended between us, I went to a bar with some of our other friends and ended up (drunkenly) making out with one of them. I of course got the whole “who’s a better kisser” spiel immediately after, and answered honestly. I later found out that this has been a long running competition between these two guys, and that they really wanted to know the truth, so guy #2 fucking used me to find out! (Guy #1 was unaware that this was the plan all along, though was excited to finally know the answer….)

To this day, I can’t believe my guy friends took it that far… I really just don’t get it! Is it a guy thing? Or was I just hanging out with a strange group of guys?

