52: Leaving Soon… And Other Random Things

Alright everyone, here is my contribution to this week’s blog adventure!!

First off, if you watched the above video, then you already know what I have planned for the upcoming weeks. If you have not yet watched the above video… watch it (it’s really just an audio file, not a “video” per-say)!

With that in mind, I bring you back to the regularly scheduled programming…

I’m now fully settled into my home here in Albuquerque — and JUST in time to leave again! It’s currently 12:35 a.m. on Sunday night (or Monday morning… however you look at it), and I have roughly 31 hours remaining until I board my flight for Chicago and the World Series of Poker Circuit event.

Those of you keeping score at home might also have noticed that Chicago is my former home-town, and as such, I will assuredly be expected to go visit everybody and their brother while I am home. And just like every other trip home I’ve ever gone on, I will not be able to do that, and someone WILL get their feelings hurt… it’s inevitable. I never intend for it to happen, but it never fails! Everyone always assumes that when I come into town, I have NOTHING else on my plate except spending every waking moment galavanting around town visiting with old friends and family members.

It’s kinda crazy how that works! People who haven’t spoken to me in four or five years will suddenly act like we are best friends and expect me to drop everything and come RUNNING to their door. And family members will have the audacity to suggest that the reason we haven’t talked in three years is because ::I:: never picked up the phone and called them (because THEIR phone CERTAINLY doesn’t have a dial pad or a “talk” button)! But alas, I put up with it… and I take the time to ensure that I visit with the people who have made an attempt at keeping in contact with me, and I put VERY LITTLE emphasis on visiting the ones who magically disappear from my radar once I leave town.

And ironically, it’s those same “why don’t you ever call me?” people who tell me that they’ve been keeping up with me via facebook or twitter… but yet they never bother to send me a message or say “hi” — and I’M the one who’s wrong!? I don’t get it. Okay, I’m done ranting now.

Anyway, my girlfriend isn’t exactly thrilled about me leaving again, but she seems to be dealing with it quite well. As I type this, I’m sitting in our guest bedroom which is currently doubling as a box-storage room — and our garage/box-storage room is also in desperate need of some attention. But, I gotta pay the bills, and a major tournament victory at the WSOPC would certainly help that, so off I go to Chicago!

In the mean-time, I’m busy cleaning-up and unpacking what I can, so that I keep the household mess to a minimum for my girlfriend (who must be a saint to have put up with my crap for the last five years).

Well folks, it’s now 1 o’clock in the morning and I have to get up at the crack of noon tomorrow and do more cleaning before I leave town (and I might find a few minutes to take the Harley out for a spin, as well).

See y’all next week from Chi-town!

