49: The Tardiness Analysis

Hey Tabbers! I got to go into work late today which is why you get to see an earlier post this week. And with my new job I’ve been thinking about tardiness a lot. You see, my philosophy has always been “If you’re early, you’re on time; if you’re on time, you’re late and late is unacceptable.” Of course there are exceptions to every rule, emergency situations and such, but generally this is a rule I live by.

This is where work comes in. You see, I’m expected to be punched in at work at 8:00 a.m. on the dot, so I arrive at work by 7:45, 7:55 at the very latest. That should give me enough time to change my shoes and punch in – no problems there, right? That should be the case. However, since I work at a bank, I can’t just stroll in

A wizard is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he means to."

in the morning – there’s an entire safety procedure that takes about 7 minutes to complete before I can even enter the building. To make matters worse, there are only a select number of coworkers who are able to perform this procedure (I am not one of them).

Ok, now if everybody lived by my rule, we would be able to get in at about 7:52, that gives us 8 minutes to before we have to punch in… But oh wait! I’m the only one who lives by this rule! My coworkers all arrive at about 7:57, which means I can’t even enter the building until 8:04, and am therefore late by default. Then our managers wonder why we’re late for the 8:10 meeting every morning…

I have brought this to my bosses attention, but it doesn’t seem to change anything. I have considered showing up later, when the rest of my coworkers do, but I can’t bring myself to do it. I don’t care so much about having to wait to get in, only that I am then getting in trouble for being late by the very people that made me late in the first place. Talk about a Catch 22.

