32: 21st Century Breakdown 

21st century breakdown
I once was lost but never was found
I think I am losing what’s left of my mind
To the 20th century deadline –
Green Day

This post is kind of a response to Mister Str8 Fwd’s on August 28th, Generation Canyon. I find it very interesting that he and I are both the same age (22) and yet have completely different views on technology. I remember all the same technology and even had one of the “brick game boys” he referred to.

Now, I am not one of those people who must have all the new technology, I have no interest in an iPad or anything. However, I find I am completely dependent on the technology that I have. Like many in my generation, I have no idea how people lived with out the internet, but it goes beyond that. One day last week I somehow forgot both my iPod and cell phone on the same day and I was completely dysfunctional without them! I didn’t know what to do with myself on the half mile walk to work. I had no music, no way to text or call people and no way to amuse myself. I had what I consider a “21st Century Breakdown”. (See what I did there?)

And that’s when I started thinking – what is it about my generation that requires us to constantly be entertained? Surely there are the products to support us in our pathetic need and society and the media certainly encourage it. Yet there was a time before all of this technology, and people got along just fine then. So why are we so incapable of going even a day without it without having such breakdowns?

I’ll be honest, I have no answer to any of these questions, but would love to hear what you think! Leave me your thoughts in the comments or shoot me an email! See you next week, tabbers!