21: No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. – Aesop

I just want to preface this by saying I am not writing this post to say what an awesome person I am or whatever, it’s more just a random thought (which is kind of what I’m known for) mixed with a hope to inspire others.

I try to commit an act of random kindness everyday. Some days the opportunity doesn’t present itself, but when it does I try to seize it. I’m not talking about running into traffic to save a helpless kitten or anything – let’s be sensible here! I just mean small acts that can put a smile on someone else’s face. I find that such acts are very rare in modern society which is why I consider it even more important that I do them. The funny part is that it really doesn’t take much effort to make someone’s day so I have no idea why these random acts are so uncommon. Here are my “kind acts” for the past few days:

Saturday: On my way home from work a lady slipped and fell on a slippery patch on the sidewalk. Despite the fact that the sidewalk was busy, I was the only person to turn around to help her up and gather her belongings. I made sure she was not hurt and that she was going to be ok. This woman was so grateful and so amazed that anyone had stopped to help her – especially someone my age.

Monday: I was walking home from shopping with my sister when I noticed an old man having trouble crossing a somewhat busy street (where I’m from, cars don’t stop). I asked him if he was alright and where he was trying to get, and he confirmed my belief. I waited until I was able to walk into the street and stood in the middle until he was completely across. Again, he was very thankful.

Tuesday: I was waiting for a bus to my parents house when I noticed a guy in the station seemed to be having a bad night. He had a kind of cute face and was rather heavy set – not a guy I would normally look at twice. We ended up being in the same compartment of the train and I intentionally sat a few seats down on the opposite side so we were sort of facing each other. I waited until I had his attention and gave him the “one over” – you know that look when you’re checking someone out. When I made eye contact with him, I winked and he just smiled. He ended up getting off at the next stop, but when he was leaving I saw that he had that “I totally just got checked out look” on his face.

Maybe these little acts did nothing in the grand scheme of things, but I like to think they at least brightened those people’s days. So now I set forth a challenge to anybody reading this: I challenge you to do one random act of kindness in the next week. When you do, leave me a comment about what you did. I can’t wait to see what you do! See you next week tabbers!

