07: What do you mean it’s not Wednesday?

Hey guys! Sorry for the late post. I know I’m supposed to post on Wednesdays, but I will also be posting on Monday util further notice. (I hope you don’t get sick of me…)

As I mentioned in my bio (see the “About Us” page) I intend on tracking my new life in the “real world” and the start of my career on this blog. This just the point I’m at in my life and I feel like sharing 🙂

So today marked my fourth day at the bank, and I am still in the early stages of training. They do their best to make me feel needed and have assigned me a few daily responsibilities, which is exciting and nerve racking at the same time. I mean the assignments are simple enough, but if I mess it up it could potentially mess up the branch for the entire day tomorrow.

I do a lot of online training and take vigorous notes while I’m reading, and I write any questions I have on the last page of the notebook so I don’t forget them and so they’re easy to find. It gets really boring at times, but I manage to suffer through. I highly prefer being able to observe my coworkers, and feel I retain more information that way.

I am very excited because at the end of the day today, my boss pulled me aside and said “I just wanted to let you know you have made a great first impression on this branch. You ask good questions, and I’m impressed that you actually take notes. We have high hopes for you.” *jaw drop* I could not believe it! I had just been my pseudo-neurotic self with the note taking and the strange questions and yet it had impressed my managers?! That totally made my day – and that is why today was awesome. 😉

